NSA ConnectEd Webinars   Search Webinars  |  Cart/Checkout
Online Seminar Information
 

IRS Correspondence Audits

November 27, 2012 at 2:00 PM EST, 1:00 PM CST, 12:00 PM MST, 11:00 AM PST

Important Note: This webinar is not live. It is a recorded playback of a live webinar. 

Did you know? The National Taxpayer Advocate cites difficulties responding to correspondence audits as one of the most serious problems taxpayers encounter, yet the IRS has increasingly relied on these correspondence audits to maintain its audit coverage of normal taxpayers as its auditor corps has shrunk. 

Here's what's happening...
•  The IRS conducts well over a million correspondence examinations each year.
•  During FY 2011, the IRS examined 1.2 million returns and assessed over $7 billion through its correspondence examination programs.
•  The examination of these issues through correspondence, rather than through a field or office audit, requires fewer IRS resources.

What you may not know...
•  A taxpayer who is subject to a correspondence examination is entitled to the same administrative and judicial appeal rights that are allowed to persons who are involved in office or field audits.
•  The taxpayer may request that the audit be transferred to his local area office to be conducted in person rather than by mail. To ask, call the number on the top of the letter. The taxpayer's rights are the same whether the examination is conducted by mail or in person.

As a tax practitioner, you can assist and protect your clients by knowing the best ways to respond to correspondence exams. During this webinar, you will learn the best ways to support your client's returns and your client's appeal rights when the exam cannot be resolved with the Compliance Center.  Please note: Audio is broadcast through participants computer speakers.

 

Presented by Robert E. McKenzie, EA, Attorney

NSA ConnectED Webinar Series
Learning Objective:
to provide participants with the latest practice management, marketing, tax and accounting education and keep them abreast of regulations affecting the profession with emphasis on compliance issues
Program Level: Basic
Prerequisites: None
Advance Preparation: None 

No refunds or exchanges for cancellations. For more information regarding the webinars, cancellations and content, please contact NSA toll-free at 800-966-6679.

 

 
Add To Cart
Select a Webinar Format:
Playback Archive
      ($65.00 for NSA Members, $95.00 for Non-members, )